Did someone say cookie dough?

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 2.12.15 PM

I just wanted to let the whole world know, there is now a vegan/dairy-free alternative to cookie dough ice cream. This beauty caught my eye at the Real Canadian Superstore in the Organic/Natural Food section two weeks ago, so of course I had to buy it.

Pros:

  • Tastes amazing!
  • Did I mention it has cookie dough?
  • No animals harmed in the making of this decadent dessert.
  • The 500mL size prevents you from eating 2L (it happens).

Cons:

  • Compared to dairy ice cream, it is a bit tougher to scoop when fully frozen. Easy solution is to take it out of the fridge five minutes before scooping.
  • It is more expensive then dairy ice cream, but that’s a small price to pay for an ethical alternative.
  • It contains soy so not great for people allergic to soy.
  • Still full of sugar – but what did you expect?

Overall – I think this is one of the best ice cream alternatives in the grocery store. It’s still a rich, sweet dessert but I find I can manage one scoop and be satisfied. Pairs perfectly with a nice cup of decaf after dinner.

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 2.18.12 PM

Leave a comment